Stokes-Kydd House (1908)
The Stokes-Kydd House is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
This brick and concrete block home was built by George Stokes in the Edwardian style on the grounds where the Uxbridge Secondary School now stands. George Stokes held several prominent positions in the community such as Councillor, Deputy Reeve, Reeve, and Treasurer of the Agricultural Society.
The house was later sold to the Kydd family. Nellie Kydd became the first female mayor the Uxbridge in 1963. The Stokes-Kydd House was moved to the UHC in 2002.
Victoria Corners Lodge Hall (1856)
The Victoria Corners Lodge Hall is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
The oldest building at the site, Victoria Corners Lodge Hall previously sat on the south side of the road just east of Victoria Corners, northeast of Uxbridge. In it's original location it was Loyal Orange Lodge No. 454; the meeting space for the Victoria Corners chapter of the fraternal, Protestant group, the Orangemen. It was moved to the UHC in 1976.
Quaker Hill Public School (1924)
The Quaker Hill Public School is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
This original, one-room, brick schoolhouse was last used as a school in 1969. The building sat vacant for several years until the Uxbridge-Scott Historical Society opened the museum on the site in 1972. The original slate blackboard and flank of windows remain intact, and offer a stunning view of the Uxbridge valley and surrounding area.
The school is a popular rental venue and regularly used for education programs, workshops, meeting space, camps, and other activities.
Fifth Line Church (1870)
The Fifth Line Church is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
This church was originally erected at Coppins Corners, near the intersection of Brock Road (Fifth Line) and Durham Road 21 on land purchased from John and Ann Rusnell. The church was originally Methodist Episcopalian (M.E.) and joined the United Church in mid-1920. The church was closed in 1966 and moved to the UHC on January 31, 1979. It was rededicated on Sunday, May 24, 1981.
The Fifth Line Church serves as a popular rental space for small weddings ceremonies and church services.
This shed was purpose-built on the UHC grounds in 1975. It houses large agricultural artifacts, farm equipment, carriages, sleighs, and other unique objects from Uxbridge's history.
The Hillson Shed dates from the 1800s and was originally located on the northeast corner of Colborne and Victoria Street in Uxbridge. Also known as a carriage shed or coach house, James Hillson used the shed for horses, livestock, and cars. It now houses a portion of the UHC's collection of agricultural equipment.
Gould-Carmody House (Late 1850s)
The Gould-Carmody House is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
This farmhouse was built in the Ontario Gothic style by Joseph Gould. Gould was the first local MPP of Uxbridge and had a major influence in the town's success and growth. The house remained in the Gould family until 1914 when it was sold to William Carmody. It was originally located near the site of the present-day Uxbridge area, and moved to the UHC in 1988.
This drive shed was originally located on the farm of Robert and Muriel Nesbitt on the west part of Concession 6 Lot 14 in Uxbridge Township. The Nesbitt farm was the filming location of the CBC series Road to Avonlea. The books used as background for the show were written by Lucy Maud Montgomery when she lived in nearby Leaksdale, one of the hamlets of Uxbridge.
It was disassembled and rebuilt on the UHC grounds in 1981. It now houses a portion of the UHC's collection of agricultural equipment.
The picturesque octagonal gazebo was built in the center of the UHC's property by the Uxbridge-Scott Historical Society in 2003. It can be rented throughout the season and is a popular spot for wedding ceremonies and other outdoor events.
This reproduction print shop was purpose-built in 1994 to house the the UHC's printing equipment, which was donated by Harry Stemp and Bill Keyzers from the Uxbridge Printing Company. The building houses several printing presses, wood type, leaded type, and other print equipment, all of which are fully operational.
Presses include a Platen Printing Press, Heidelberg Letter Press, Intertype, and hand proof press, and a challenge proof press.
Scott Township Municipal Hall (1860)
The Scott Township Municipal Hall is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
The Scott Township Municipal Hall was originally built by Anthony Thompson on the northeast corner of Concession 5 Lot 14 in Scott Township. It was used by the township council until the end of 1967, when it was purchased by Dorothy and Ed Brown. They relocated it to their farm where it was outfitted with vertical siding and served as a Country Heritage Museum. It was moved to the UHC grounds in 1993.