Explore the UHC
The Uxbridge Historical Centre's buildings reflect a variety of architectural styles and time periods.
The Gould-Carmody House is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
The Gould-Carmody House was built in the Ontario Gothic style by Joseph Gould, the first local MPP who had a major influence on the growth and success of Uxbridge. The house remained in the Gould family until 1914 when it was sold to William Carmody. Originally located near the site of the present-day Uxbridge arena, the house was moved to the Centre in 1988.
VICTORIA CORNERS LODGE HALL
The Victoria Corners Lodge Hall is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
The oldest building at the site, Victoria Corners Lodge Hall sat on the south side of the road just east of Victoria Corners, northeast of Uxbridge. It was moved to the Centre in 1976.
FIFTH LINE CHURCH
The Fifth Line Church is Designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
This church was erected at Coppins Corners near the intersection of Brock Road (the Fifth line) and Durham Road 21 on land purchased from John and Ann Rusnell. Originally Methodist Episcopalian (M.E.), it joined the United Church in mid-1920. The church was closed in 1966 and moved to the Uxbridge Historical Centre on January 31, 1979, it was rededicated on Sunday, May 24, 1981.
SCOTT TOWNSHIP MUNICIPAL HALL
The Scott Township Municipal Hall is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
The Scott Township Municipal Hall was erected by Anthony Thompson on the northeast corner of Lot 14, Concession 5 in Scott Township and used by township council until the end of 1967. It was purchased by Dorothy and Ed Brown and relocated to their farm where it served as a Country Heritage Museum and outfitted with vertical siding. It was moved to the UHC grounds in 1993.
STOKES-KYDD HOUSE (1908)
The Stokes-Kydd House is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
George Stokes built his brick and concrete block home in the Edwardian style on the grounds where the Uxbridge Secondary School now stands. George Stokes held several prominent positions in the community such as Councillor, Deputy Reeve, Reeve, and Treasurer of the Agricultural Society.
The house was later sold to George and Nellie Kydd. Nellie Kydd was the first female mayor the Uxbridge in 1963. The Stokes-Kydd House was moved to the Centre in 2002.
QUAKER HILL PUBLIC SCHOOL
The Quaker Hill Public School is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
The original, one-room, brick schoolhouse was last used as a school in 1969. The building sat vacant for several years until the Uxbridge-Scott Historical Society opened a museum in the school in 1972. The original slate blackboard and flank of windows remain intact, and offer a stunning view of the Uxbridge valley and surrounding area.
The school is a popular rental venue and regularly used for education programs, workshops, meeting space, camps, and other activities.
The picturesque, octagonal gazebo was built by the Uxbridge-Scott Historical Society in 2003. The gazebo can be rented throughout the season.
The Nesbitt Shed is a non-designated property of cultural heritage value or interest under the Ontario Heritage Act.
This drive shed was originally located on the farm of Robert and Muriel Nesbitt on the west part of Lot 14, Concession 6, Uxbridge Township. The Nesbitt farm was the filming location of the CBC series Road to Avonlea which ran for 7 years and was shown in 140 countries. The books used as background for the show were written by Lucy Maud Montgomery when she lived in Leaskdale, one of the hamlets of Uxbridge.
The shed was disassembled and rebuilt on the UHC grounds in 1981. Twenty years later the shed was moved to its present location and placed on a concrete foundation.
This fully equipped, reproduction print shop was erected onsite in 1994 to house the printing equipment donated to the UHC by Harry Stemp and Bill Keyzers when the Uxbridge Printing Company was sold. The printing press and other equipment are still operational and often demonstrated during special events.
The Hillson Shed is a non-designated property of cultural heritage value or interest under the Ontario Heritage Act.
The Hillson Shed dates from the 1800's and was originally located on the northeast corner of Colborne and Victoria Street in Uxbridge. Also known as a carriage shed or coach house, James Hillson, used the shed for horses, livestock, and cars.
Built onsite in 1975, this shed houses agricultural artifacts, farm equipment, and other large artifacts.